Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17


Wednesday, May 17, 2017 (in camera)
Thursday, May 18, 2017 (morning)
Thursday, May 18, 2017 (afternoon)

Issue No. 24

Thirteenth meeting:

Study on the role of robotics, 3D printing and artificial intelligence in the healthcare system


First and second meetings:

Subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 5, 9, 11, 13, 14 and 16 of Part 4 of Bill C-44, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2017 and other measures


Thursday, May 18, 2017 (Morning)

Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR):

Dr. Alan Bernstein, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Alison McDermott, Director General, Science and Innovation Sector, Program Coordination Branch.

Health Canada:

David Lee, Executive Advisor to the Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch;

Ed Morgan, Director General, Policy, Planning and International Affairs Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch;

Naira Minto-Saaed, Director, Strategic Planning and Accountability Division, Resource Management and Operations Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch;

Deryck Trehearne, Director General, Resource Management and Operations Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch.

Innovative Medicines Canada:

Declan Hamill, Vice-President, Legal, Regulatory and Policy;

Keith McIntosh, Executive Director, Scientific and Regulatory Affairs.

Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association:

Jim Keon, President;

Jody Cox, Vice-president, Federal and International Affairs.

Thursday, May 18, 2017 (Afternoon)

Canadian Labour Congress:

Barbara Byers, Secretary-Treasurer;

Chris Roberts, Director, Social and Economic Policy.

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Monique Moreau, Vice President, National Affairs.

Vanier Institute of the Family:

Nora Spinks, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference).

Canada Employment Insurance Commission (CEIC):

Pierre Laliberté, Commissioner for Workers;

Judith Andrew, Commissioner for Employers.

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC):

Andrew Brown, Executive Director, Employment Insurance Policy;

Rutha Astravas, Director, Special Benefits, Employment Insurance Policy;

Margaret Hill, Senior Director, Strategic Policy and Legislative Reform, Labour Program;

Charles Philippe Rochon, Acting Manager, Labour Standards and Wage Earner Protection Program, Workplace Directorate, Labour Program;

Duncan Shaw, Director, Employment Insurance Part II Benefits and Measures, Employment Programs Policy and Design, Skills and Employment Branch;

Rose Young, Manager, Employment Insurance Part II Benefits and Measures, Employment Programs Policy and Design.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Cormier, Day, Dean, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), MacDonald, McIntyre, McPhedran, Mégie, Neufeld, Petitclerc, Seidman, *Smith (or Martin), Stewart Olsen, Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Woo replaced the Honourable Senator Griffin (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Griffin replaced the Honourable Senator Hartling (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Unger (May 18, 2017).