Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017

Issue No. 33

Third and fourth meetings:
Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Statistics Act

(Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Statistics Act)


Wednesday, December 6, 2017

National Statistics Council:

Ian McKinnon, Chair.

As individuals:

Mel Cappe, Professor in the School of Public Policy and Governance at the University of Toronto, former Clerk of the Privy Council;

Philip Cross, Senior Fellow, Macdonald Laurier Institute;

Bill Waiser, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Saskatchewan (by video conference);

Chad Gaffield, Distinguished University Professor, University of Ottawa.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Statistics Canada:

Andrée Desaulniers, Senior Analyst, Information Management Division.

UK Statistics Authority:

John Pullinger, UK National Statistician and Chief Executive of the UK Statistics Authority (by video conference).


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Judith Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bernard, Cordy, *Day (or Mercer), Doyle, Galvez, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Manning, Mégie, Omidvar, Poirier, Raine, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Galvez replaced the Honourable Senator Dean (December 7, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Griffin (December 7, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Griffin replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (December 5, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Neufeld was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (December 4, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Doyle was added to the membership (December 4, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Doyle (November 30, 2017).

Back to top