Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018

Issue No. 39

First and second meetings:
Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts


Wednesday, March 28, 2018

The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, P.C., M.P., Minister of Health;

Bill Blair, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and to the Minister of Health.


Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Health Canada:

Eric Costen, Director General, Cannabis Legalization and Regulation Secretariat;

John Clare, Director, Policy, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs.

Department of Justice Canada:

Diane Labelle, General Counsel;

Paul Saint-Denis, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Federation of Canadian Municipalities:

Bill Karsten, First Vice President, Councillor, City of Halifax;

Alana Lavoie, Manager of Policy and Research.

Ville de Montréal:

Peggy Bachman, Director, Office of Government and Municipal Relations (by video conference);

Marie-Pierre Rouette, Member, Government Relations (by video conference).

City of Waterloo:

Shayne Turner, Director, By-Law Enforcement.

City of Richmond:

Chak Kwong Au, Councillor.

City of Calgary:

Matt Zabloski, Business Strategist, Calgary Community Standards.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Judith Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Day (or Mercer), Dean, Doyle, Galvez, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Manning, Mégie, Munson, Omidvar, Poirier, Raine, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Galvez replaced the Honourable Senator Deacon (March 29, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Doyle replaced the Honourable Senator White (March 29, 2018).

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Doyle (March 28, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Deacon replaced the Honourable Senator Bernard (March 28, 2018).

Back to top