Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018

Issue No. 44

Fourteenth, fifteenth and sixteenth meetings:
Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts


Tuesday, May 22, 2018

As individuals:

David Hammond, Associate Professor, University of Waterloo (by video conference);

Ryan Forrest, Policy and Advocacy Officer, Framework Convention Alliance for Tobacco Control;

Dr. George Sam Wang, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Children's Hospital Colorado (by video conference).

Organigram Inc.:

Greg Engel, Chief Executive Officer.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Cannabis Canada Council:

Allan Rewak, Executive Director.

Canopy Growth Corporation:

Bruce Linton, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.


Dr. Terry Lake, Vice-President of Corporate Social Responsibility.

Town of Smiths Falls:

Shawn Pankow, Mayor.

Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance:

Russ Crawford, President;

Jason Green, Director.

Cannabis Trade Alliance of Canada:

Rosy Mondin, Executive Director.

Hiku Brands:

Will Stewart, Vice-President, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs.

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Canadian Pharmacists Association:

Phil Emberley, Director;

Jean Thiffault, Member, President, Association québécoise des pharmaciens propriétaires.

Canadian Association of Medical Cannabis Dispensaries:

Jeremy Jacob, President.


Philippe Lucas, Vice-President, Global Patient Research and Access.

Canadians for Fair Access to Medical Marijuana:

James O'Hara, President and CEO.

B.C. Compassion Club Society:

Hilary Black, Founder.

As an individual:

Kirk Tousaw, Barrister, Tousaw Law Corporation.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Judith Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Day (or Mercer), Deacon, Dean, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Manning, McCallum, Mégie, Mockler, Munson, Neufeld, Omidvar, Poirier, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Deacon replaced the Honourable Senator Bernard (May 24, 2018).

The Honourable Senator McCallum replaced the Honourable Senator Petitclerc (May 24, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator McCallum (May 24, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Mockler replaced the Honourable Senator Maltais (May 24, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (May 24, 2018).

The Honourable Senator McCallum replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (May 23, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (May 23, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Dean replaced the Honourable Senator Deacon (May 22, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Maltais was added to the membership (May 22, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (May 22, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Mockler (May 15, 2018).

Back to top