Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable CHANTAL PETITCLERC

Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019

Issue No. 53

Second and third meetings:
Bill S-252, Voluntary Blood Donations Act (An Act to amend the Blood Regulations)


Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association :

Joshua Penrod, vice-président directeur, Source et affaires internationales.

Réseau des associations vouées aux troubles sanguins rares :

David Page, membre, conseil d'administration.

Organisation canadienne des personnes immunodéficientes :

Whitney Goulstone, directrice générale.

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Canadian Doctors for Medicare:

Dr. Monika Dutt, Board Member (by video conference).

Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions:

Linda Silas, President.

Canadian Union of Public Employees:

Amanda Vyce, Senior Research Officer.


The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Chair

The Honourable Judith G. Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dasko, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Manning, Mégie, Munson, Oh, Omidvar, Poirier, Ravalia, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (February 21, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (February 19, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Mockler (February 4, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Eaton was added to the membership (December 10, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Wells was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (December 10, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (December 10, 2018).

Back to top