Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable CHANTAL PETITCLERC

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019

Issue No. 57

Second and third meetings:
Bill C-81, An Act to ensure a barrier-free Canada


Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Christianne Laizner, Vice-Chairperson, Telecommunications.

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Marie-Claude Landry, Chief Commissioner;

Keith Smith, Acting Director General, Policy and Communications.

Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board:

Catherine Ebbs, Chairperson.

Canadian Transportation Agency:

Scott Streiner, Chair and Chief Executive Officer.

Federal Accessibility Legislation Alliance:

Bill Adair, Executive Director, Spinal Cord Injury Canada.

ARCH Disability Law Centre:

Kerri Joffe, Staff Lawyer.

Council of Canadians with Disabilities:

Steven Estey, Government and Community Relations Officer.

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Communication Disabilities Access Canada:

Barbara Collier, Executive Director.

Canadian National Institute for the Blind:

Diane Bergeron, Vice President, Engagement and International Affairs.

March of Dimes Canada:

Zinnia Batliwalla, National Manager, Government Relations and Advocacy.

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act Alliance:

David Lepofsky, Chair.

BC Aboriginal Network on Disability Society:

Neil Belanger, Executive Director (by video conference).

Confédération des organismes de personnes handicapées du Québec:

Camille Desforges, Deputy Executive Director.


The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Chair

The Honourable Judith G. Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dasko, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Kutcher, Manning, Mégie, Munson, Oh, Omidvar, Poirier, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Kutcher replaced the Honourable Senator Ravalia (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Deacon (Ontario) replaced the Honourable Senator Kutcher (April 11, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Ravalia replaced the Honourable Senator Moodie (April 11, 2019).

Back to top