Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, March 23, 1999
Wednesday, March 24, 1999

Issue No. 24

Seventeenth and eighteenth meetings on:
Aboriginal self-government


From the Akwesasne Reserve:

Mr. Mike Mitchell, Grand Chief;

Mr. Peter Garrow, Director of Education;

Mr. Micha Menczer, Legal Counsel, Mohawk Council;

Mr. Vaughn Phillips, Chief;

Mr. Raymond Mitchell, Police Portfolio;

Ms Lucy Papineau, Director of Health.

From the Kahnawake Reserve:

Mr. Russell Roundpoint, Intergovernmental Liaison Officer.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Mahovlich, Pearson, Robertson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Cochrane substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Berntson (March 24, 1999).

Back to top