Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, April 13, 1999
Wednesday, April 14, 1999

Issue No. 25

Nineteenth and twentieth meetings on: Aboriginal self-government
First meeting on: Bill C-49, the First Nation Land Management Act


Tuesday, April 13, 1999 (morning meeting)

From the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Grand Chief Rod Bushie;

Chief Michael Lawrenchuk;

Chief Harvey Nepinak.

From the Metis Nation of Alberta:

Ms Audrey Poitras, President;

Mr. Lorne Gladue, Director of Federal-Provincial Initiatives;

Mr. Bruce Gladue, Research and Development Advisor.

Tuesday, April 13, 1999 (afternoon meeting)

As an individual:

Dr. Mark Dockstator.

From Pauktuutit:

Ms Veronica Dewar, President;

Ms Tracy O'Hearn, Executive Director.

Wednesday, April 14, 1999

From Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Mr. Bob Watts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Trust Services;

Mr. Kerry Kipping, Director, Resource Initiative Directorate, Lands and Trust Services;

Ms Geneviève Thériault, Counsel, Legal Services.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Mahovlich, Pearson, Robertson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top