Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, April 20, 1999
Wednesday, April 21, 1999

Issue No. 26

Twenty-first and twenty-second meetings on: Aboriginal self-government
Second meeting on: Bill C-49, the First Nation Land Management Act


Tuesday, April 20, 1999 (morning meeting)

From Provincial Court of Saskatchewan:

The Honourable Chief Judge Linton J. Smith.

From the Institute on Governance:

John Graham.

From the Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg:

Erica Ballentyne;

Naomi Handel.

Tuesday, April 20, 1999 (afternoon meeting)

From the Interim Lands Advisory Board:

Robert Louie, Chairman;

Ken Marchant, Legal Counsel;

Bill Henderson, Legal Counsel;

Patrick Orr, Barrister and Solicitor, Legislative Drafting services;

Chief Bill Williams, Squamish First Nation;

Chief Harry O'Donaghey, N'Quatqua First Nation;

Chief Barry Seymour, Lheit-Liten First Nation;

Chief Darlene Yellow Old Woman Munro, Siksika Nation;

Chief Austin Bear, Muskoday First Nation;

Chief Terrence Pelletier, Cowessess First Nation;

Chief William Lathlin, Opakwayak First Nation;

Chief William McCue, Chippewas of Georginia Island First Nation;

Chief Rennie Goose, Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation;

Chief Margaret Penasse-Mayer, Nipissing First Nation;

Chief Lorraine McRae, Chippewas of Mnjikanning;

Chief Arthur Bear, St. Mary's First Nation.

Wednesday, April 21, 1999

From the Paul Chartrand Consulting Services:

Paul Chartrand.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Ghitter, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Mahovlich, Pearson, Robertson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Ghitter substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cochrane (April 20, 1999).

Back to top