Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Thursday, June 16, 2005

Issue No. 19

Twentieth and twenty-first meetings on:

The rights and freedoms of children


Morning Meeting

Office of the Ombudsman of Nova Scotia:

Christine Brennan, Supervisor of Youth and Senior Services;

Sonia Ferrara, Ombudsman Representative of Youth and Senior Services.

Dalhousie Law School:

Professor Wayne MacKay.

IWK Health Centre:

Dr. Douglas McMillan, Professor of Pediatrics;

Jane Mealey, Vice-President, Children's Health;

Anne Cogdon, Director for Primary Health;

Dr. Ryan Thompson, MHSA Resident.

Afternoon Meeting

Child Care Connections Nova Scotia:

Elaine Ferguson, Executive Director.

Government of Nova Scotia

Family and Children's Services:

George Savoury, Senior Director.

Department of Education:

Ann Power, Director, Student Services Division;

Don Glover, Consultant, Student Services Division.

Department of Justice:

Fred Honsberger, Executive Director, Correctional Services.

Department of Health:

Linda Smith, Executive Director, Mental Health, Child Health and Addiction Treatment Services.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Landon Pearson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Baker, P.C., Carstairs, P.C., Ferretti Barth, *Kinsella (or Stratton), LeBreton, Losier-Cool, Oliver, Poy

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top