Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Tuesday, June 14, 2005
Wednesday, June 15, 2005
Thursday, June 16, 2005

Issue No. 22

Thirty-second, thirty-third and thirty-fourth meetings on:

Mental health and mental illness


Tuesday, June 14, 2005

Consumers Health Awareness Network Newfoundland and Labrador (CHANNAL):

Joan Edwards-Karmazin, Manager.

Health Care Corporation of St. John's:

Ian Shortall, Division Manager, BRIDGES Program.

Health and Communicty Services — St. John's Region:

Kim Baldwin, Director of Mental Health and Addictions.

As an individual:

Ron Fitzpatrick.

Waterford Hospital:

Geri Dalton, Nurse Practioner, Short Stay Unit.

As walk-ons:

Helen Forristall;

Robert J. Ryan;

Harold Dunne;

Deborah Jackman.

Wednesday, June 15, 2005

Roots of Empathy:

Mary Bungay-Gaultois, Trainer and Mentor.

Newfoundland & Labrador Early Psychosis Program:

Dr. Kellie LeDrew, Clinical Director.

Canadian Mental Health Association, Newfoundland and Labrador Division:

Geoff Chaulk, Executive Director.

Psychiatric Association of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Ted Callanan, President.

Stella Burry Community Services:

Jocelyn Greene, Executive Director.

Thursday, June 16, 2005

As an individual:

Dr. Ian Reid.

Health and Social Services, Province of Prince Edward Island:

Dr. Tina Pranger, Mental Health Consultant.

West Prince Health Region:

Jim Campbell, Mental Health Addictions Coordinator.

Aboriginal Survivors for Healing:

Tarry Hewitt, Project Coordinator.

Provincial Suicide Prevention Committee:

Pat Doyle, Co-Chair.

Fitzroy Centre Programme:

Tom Macleod.

Canadian Mental Health Association (P.E.I.) Support Needs Working Group:

Bonnie Arnold;

Reid Burke, Executive Director.

As walk-ons:

Gail Maclean, President of the Schizophrenia Society of P.E.I..

Gregg Reddin.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top