Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, February 7, 2007
Thursday, February 8, 2007

Issue No. 17

First and second meetings on:

The future of literacy programs in Canada


Wednesday, February 7, 2007

National Indigenous Literacy Association:

Priscilla George (Ningwakwe), National Speaker.

Laubach Literacy of Canada:

Gay Hamilton, Executive Director.

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada:

Marie-Josée Thivierge, Assistant Deputy Minister, Learning Branch;

Andrew Treusch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Planning.

Thursday, February 8, 2007

Fédération canadienne d'alphabétisation en français:

Gaétan Cousineau, Director General.

National Adult Literacy Database:

Charles Ramsey, Executive Director.

Movement for Canadian Literacy:

Wendy DesBrisay, Executive Director.

As individuals:

Daniel Haines;

Françoise Cadieux;

Dianne C. Smith;

Richard Miller.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., *Hervieux-Payette, P.C., (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Munson, Nancy Ruth, Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to the rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Chaput was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cordy (February 7, 2007).

The name of the Honourable Senator Cordy was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Chaput (February 8, 2007).