Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

Issue No. 5

Fifth and sixth meetings on:

The involvement of Aboriginal communities and businesses in economic development activities in Canada


Wednesday, September 27, 2006 (morning meeting)

Aboriginal Chamber of Commerce:

Bonnie Sypulski, Board Member;

Edward Kidd, Executive Director.

Manitoba Keewatinook Ininew Okimowin:

Grand Chief Sydney Garrioch;

Joe Guy Wood, Economic Development Coordinator;

Michael Anderson, Research Director;

Richard Hart, Executive Director;

Ashmede Asgarali, Director of Information Technology.

Manitoba Metis Federation:

Jack Park, Chair of the Economic Development;

Oliver Boulette, Executive Director;

Donald Roulette, Executive Advisor on Strategic Development.

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Ian Cramer, Senior Business Advisor.

Wednesday, September 27, 2006 (afternoon meeting)

As a panel:

Manitoba Aboriginal and Northern Affairs:

Joe Morrisseau, Executive Director.

Manitoba Hydro:

Bob Monkman, Manager of Community Relations, Aboriginal Relations Division.

As a panel:

Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd.:

Robert Campbell, Director of Business Development and Public Relations.

Southeast Community Futures Development Corporation:

Carol Johnston, Director.

Tribal Wi-Chi-Way-Win Capital Corporation:

Crystal Laborero, Project Manager.

Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg:

Larry Wucherer, President.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Campbell, Dyck, Gill, Gustafson, *Hays (or Fraser), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Segal, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top