Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable JERAHMIEL S. GRAFSTEIN

Thursday, March 22, 2007

Issue No. 18

First meeting on:

Study of Bill C-37, An Act to amend the law governing financial institutions
and to provide for related and consequential matters


Public Interest Advocacy Centre:

John Lawford, Counsel;

Jacques St-Amant, Legal Counsel.

Canadian Community Reinvestment Coalition:

Duff Conacher, Chairperson.

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada:

Jim Callon, Acting Commissionner;

Susan Murray, Acting Deputy Commissioner.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI):

Julie Dickson, Acting Superintendent of Financial Institutions.


The Honourable Jerahmiel S. Grafstein, Chair

The Honourable W. David Angus, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Baker, P.C., Banks, Biron, Eyton, Fitzpatrick, Goldstein, Harb, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C., (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Massicotte, Meighen, Oliver

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Eyton substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Gustafson (March 22, 2007).

Back to top