Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable BILL ROMPKEY, P.C.

Wednesday, October 3, 2006
Tuesday, October 17, 2006
Thursday, October 19, 2006
Thursday, October 26, 2006

Issue No. 3

Fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth meetings on:

Issues relating to the federal government's new and evolving policy framework for managing Canada's fisheries and oceans


Wednesday, October 3, 2006

The Honourable Loyola Hearn, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries and Oceans


Wednesday, October 3, 2006

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Larry Murray, Deputy Minister;

Michaela Huard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector;

Wayne Follett, Regional Director General, Newfoundland and Labrador Region;

Paul Steele, Director General, Conservation and Protection Directorate;

Jeff MacDonald, Director, Atlantic Fisheries and International Governance, International Affairs Directorate.

Tuesday, October 17, 2006

Living Oceans Society:

Jennifer Lash, Executive Director;

Kate Willis, Marine Planning Specialist.

T. Buck Suzuki Environmental Foundation:

James McIsaac, Clean Water Director.

Thursday, October 19, 2006

As individuals:

Earl Wiseman;

Bob Applebaum;

Bill Rowat.

Thursday, October 26, 2006

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Richard Ballhorn, Director General and Deputy Legal Advisor, Legal Affairs Bureau;

Keith Lewis, Legal Officer, Oceans Law Section;

Michael Shewchuk, Legal Officer, Oceans Law Section.


The Honourable Bill Rompkey, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Baker, P.C., Campbell, Cochrane, Comeau, Cowan, Gill, *Hays, (or Fraser), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Meighen, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Cochrane was added (September 21, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Eyton substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Johnson (September 29, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Johnson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Eyton (October 5, 2006).

Back to top