Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Official Languages

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable MARIA CHAPUT

Monday, March 19, 2007
Monday, March 26, 2007

Issue No. 13

First meeting on:

Government response to the report of the committee entitled: French-Language Education in a Minority Setting: A Continuum from Early Childhood to the Postsecondary Level

Twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth meetings on:

The application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the act


Monday, March 19, 2007

As a panel:

Fédération des conseils scolaires francophones:

Ernest Thibodeau, President;

Paul Charbonneau, Director General.

Commission nationale des parents francophones:

Ghislaine Pilon, President;

Jean-Pierre Dubé, Director, Liaison and Policy.

As a panel:

Association des universités de la francophonie canadienne:

Gilles Patry, Vice-President, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa;

Guy Gélineau, Vice-President and Director General.

Réseau des cégeps et des collèges francophones du Canada:

François Allard, President;

Réginald Lavertu, Executive Director;

Yvon St-Jules, Project Manager.

Monday, March 26, 2007

Veterans Affairs Canada:

Keith Hillier, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Branch, Charlottetown;

John Gowdy, Director, Executive Services Directorate.

As a panel:

Assemblée communautaire fransaskoise:

François Dornez, Community Deputy;

Marie-France Kenny, Former President.

Société Saint-Thomas d'Aquin:

Edmond Richard, President;

Lizanne Thorne, Director.


The Honourable Maria Chaput, Chair

The Honourable Andrée Champagne, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Comeau, Cowan, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), Jaffer, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Losier-Cool, Murray, P.C., Tardif, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top