Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-2008

Chair: The Honourable JOYCE FAIRBAIRN, P.C.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008
Thursday, February 28, 2008

Issue No. 7

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings on:

Rural poverty in Canada

First (final) meeting on:

Bill C-44, an Act to amend the Agricultural Marketing Programs Act


Thursday, February 28, 2008

        The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board


Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Ontario Provincial Police:

Mark Allen, Inspector, Manager, Crime Prevention Section, Investigation Bureau.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Michel Aubin, Director, Drugs and Organized Crime;

Marcel Eugène Lebeuf, Senior Research Officer.

Thursday, February 28, 2008

As an individual (by videoconference):

Mark Shucksmith, Professor, Newcastle University.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Susie Miller, Director General, Food Value Chain Bureau;

Jody Aylard, Director General, Finance and Renewal Programs Directorate.


The Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Baker, P.C., Callbeck, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau) Mahovlich, Mercer, Peterson, Segal, St. Germain, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Callbeck substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Adams (February 25, 2008).

The name of the Honourable Senator Baker, P.C., substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (February 25, 2008).