Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 6 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Thursday, January 31, 2008


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met at 10:45 a.m., this day, in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable W. David Angus, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Angus, Biron, Eyton, Fitzpatrick, Goldstein, Harb, Massicotte, Meighen and Ringuette (9).

In attendance: June Dewetering and Philippe Bergevin, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, November 20, 2007, the committee continued its study of the present state of the domestic and international financial system. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 3.)


International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers:

Louis Erlichman, Canadian Research Director.

United Steelworkers:

Shaheen Hirani, Counsel, Steelworkers Legal Department;

Dennis Deveau, Legislative Director.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Ken Georgetti, President;

Joel Davison Harden, National Representative (Research).

Canadian Auto Workers Union (CAW-Canada):

Lewis Gottheil, Director, Legal Department;

Paul Forder, Director, Government Relations.

Mr. Erlichman, Mr. Deveau and Ms. Hirani each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:01 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Georgetti and Mr. Gottheil each made a statement and, together with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Line Gravel

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top