Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, December 1, 2009
Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Issue No. 22

Thirty-eighth and thirty-ninth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations,
Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada


Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Métis National Council:

David Chartrand, Vice-President.

Métis Nation British Columbia:

Bruce Dumont, President.

Métis Nation — Saskatchewan:

Robert Doucette, President.

Métis Nation of Ontario:

Gary Lipinski, President.

Métis Nation of Alberta:

Audrey Poitras, President.

Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn Atleo, National Chief.

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Manitoba Métis Federation:

Leah LaPlante, Vice-President.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, Carstairs, P.C., *Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Merchant, Patterson, Raine, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Merchant replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (December 2, 2009).

Back to top