Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, September 16, 2009
Thursday, September 17, 2009

Issue No. 13

First and second meetings on:

Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (limiting credit for time spent in pre-sentencing custody)


Wednesday, September 16, 2009

The Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.


Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Department of Justice Canada:

Matthias Villetort, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Catherine Kane, Acting Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Statistics Canada:

Lynn Barr-Telford, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Craig Grimes, Senior Analyst, Courts Program, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Rebecca Kong, Chief, Correctional Services Section, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Canadian Association of Crown Counsel:

Jamie Chaffe, President.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Mark A. Lapowich, Representative.

Canadian Bar Association:

Eric Gottardi, Secretary, National Criminal Justice Section;

Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform.

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Michael Spratt, Member.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

As individuals:

Julian Roberts, Professor, Centre of Criminology, University of Oxford;

Michael Weinrath, Professor, University of Winnipeg;

Allan Manson, Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University;

Anthony N. Doob, Professor, University of Toronto;

Cheryl Webster, Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Bryden, Campbell, * Cowan (or Tardif), Dickson, Joyal, P.C., * LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Milne, Rivest, Wallace,  Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (June 22, 2009).