Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Issue No. 11

Nineteenth and twentieth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues concerning First Nations education)


Thursday, October 7, 2010 (morning meeting)

Office of the Treaty Commissioner of Saskatchewan:

Honourable Bill McKnight, P.C., Treaty Commissioner;

Harry Lafond, Executive Director.

Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations:

Guy Lonechild, Chief;

Gerry Hurton, Executive Director of Education.

As an individual:

Vivian Ayoungman.

Confederacy of Treaty 6 First Nations:

Quintine Kootenay, Grand Chief Liaison Officer.

Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta:

Rose Laboucan, Chief, Driftpile First Nation;

Eileen Lines, Interim Director of Education.

Treaty 7 Management Corporation:

Sheena Jackson, Education Director;

Evelyn Good Striker, Education Researcher.

Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn Atleo, National Chief.

Thursday, October 7, 2010 (afternoon meeting)

Edmonton Public Schools:

Margaretha Ebbers, Supervisor, Aboriginal Education, Programs;

Edgar Schmidt, Superintendent.

Wild Rose Public Schools:

Brian Celli, Superintendent of Schools.

Edmonton Catholic Schools:

Richard Dombrosky, Assistant Superintendent, Learning Services — Enhancement.

Red Deer Public Schools:

Bruce Buruma, Director of Community Relations.

Northwest Nations Education Council:

Gerry Guillet, Director of Education, Chief Executive Officer;

Wes Fine Day, Cultural Advisor/Partnership Coordinator.

Ile-a-la-Crosse School Division:

Lon Borgerson, Director of Education;

Duane Favel, Chair, Board of Education.

Regina Public Schools:

Calvin Racette, Aboriginal Education Coordinator;

Dave Hutchinson, Superintendent;

Betty McKenna, Elder.

Saskatoon Tribal Council:

Larry Cachene, Chief;

John Barton, Acting Director of Education.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Mockler (September 28, 2010).

Back to top