Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 (in camera)
Thursday, May 9, 2013 (in camera)
Wednesday, May 22, 2013
Thursday, May 23, 2013

Issue No. 26

First, second and third meetings on:

Study on security conditions and economic developments in the Asia-Pacific region, the implications for Canadian policy and interests in the region, and other related matter


Twelfth meeting on:

Study on economic and political developments in the Republic of Turkey, their regional and global influences, the implications for Canadian interests and opportunities, and other related matters


Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Peter McGovern, Assistant Deputy Minister, Investment, Innovation, Business Development and Asia;

Marvin Hildebrand, Director General, Trade Negotiations Bureau;

Peter MacArthur, Director General, South, Southeast Asia and Oceania;

Cindy Termorshuizen, Acting Director General, North Asia;

Artur Wilczynski, Director General, Security and Intelligence Bureau and Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Canadian International Development Agency:

Jeff Nankivell, Regional Director General, Asia, Geographic Programs Branch.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Centre for International Governance Innovation:

Simon Palamar, Researcher.

Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada:

Yuen Pau Woo, President and CEO (by video conference).


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Beyak, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dawson, De Bané, P.C., Demers, Fortin-Duplessis, Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Robichaud, P.C., Smith, P.C. (Cobourg), Wallace

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (May 23, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (May 22, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Rivard (May 9, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Dawson replaced the Honourable Senator Day (May 8, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Johnson replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 7, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (May 6, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (May 6, 2013).