Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Thursday, June 21, 2012
Thursday, June 28, 2012

Issue No. 20

First and second meetings on:

Bill S-11, Safe Food for Canadians Act


The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board


Thursday, June 21, 2012

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

George Da Pont, President;

Dr. Brian Evans, Chief Food Safety Officer and Chief Veterinary Officer of Canada;

Neil Bouwer, Vice-President, Policy and Programs;

Colleen Barnes, Executive Director, Domestic Policy Directorate.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Canadian Meat Council:

James M. Laws, Executive Director.

Canadian Poultry and Egg Processors Council:

Robin Horel, President and CEO.

Canadian National Millers Association:

Gordon Harrison, President.

Maple Leaf Foods:

Rory McAlpine, Vice-President, Government and Industry Relations.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Fernand Robichaud, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Buth, *Cowan (or Tardif), Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Mahovlich, Maltais, Mercer, Merchant, Nolin, Peterson, Plett, Rivard

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (June 28, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Seth (June 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Seth replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (June 19, 2012).

Back to top