Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011- 12

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, October 30, 2012
Thursday, November 1, 2012

Issue No. 25

Thirty-sixth meeting on:

The research and innovation efforts in the agricultural sector

First meeting on:

The subject matter of those elements contained in Division 19 of Part 4 of Bill C-45, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures


The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Potash Corp:

Jeff Holzman, Director, Market Research.

Canadian Fertilizer Institute:

Robert Godfrey, Senior Manager, Policy.

Alberta Innovates Bio Solutions:

Stan Blade, Chief Executive Officer.

British Columbia Innovation Council:

John Jacobson, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference).

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Canadian Grain Commission:

Elwin Hermanson, Chief Commissioner;

Gordon Miles, Chief Operating Officer.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Frédéric Seppey, Director General, Policy Development and Analysis Directorate.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Fernand Robichaud, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Buth, Callbeck, *Cowan (or Tardif), Duffy, Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Mahovlich, Maltais, Mercer, Merchant, Plett, Rivard

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Maltais replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (October 31, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (October 31, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Rivard (October 30, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Maltais (October 30, 2012).