Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012
Wednesday, April 24, 2012
Tuesday, April 25, 2012

Issue No. 15

Twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Additions to Reserves)


Second and third meetings on:

Legal and political recognition of Métis identity in Canada

(Special Study Budget 2012-2013 — Evolving legal and political recognition of the collective identity and
rights of the Métis in Canada)


Tuesday, April 3, 2012

First Nations Tax Commission:

C.T. (Manny) Jules, Chief Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer.

Assembly of First Nations:

Jody Wilson-Raybould, British Columbia Regional Chief;

Tonio Sadik, Senior Advisor;

Kathleen Lickers, External Legal Advisor.

Wednesday, April 24, 2012

Health Canada:

Kathy Langlois, Director General, Community Programs Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Marla Israel, Acting Director General, Centre for Health Promotion.

Tuesday, April 25, 2012

As individuals:

Larry Chartrand, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Common Law Section, University of Ottawa;

Brenda Macdougall, Chair, Métis Research, Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts, University of Ottawa.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Lovelace Nicholas, Meredith, Munson, Patterson, Raine, Sibbeston, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Meredith replaced the Honourable Senator White (April 25, 2012).

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (April 25, 2012).

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (April 24, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (April 3, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator White (April 3, 2012).

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (April 2, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (March 29, 2012).

Back to top