Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Issue No. 19

Sixth meeting on:

Legal and political recognition of Métis identity in Canada


Fifth meeting on:

Bill S-8, An Act respecting the safety of drinking water on First Nation lands


Tuesday, May 29, 2012

The Honourable John Duncan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.


Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Gail Mitchell, Director General, Community Infrastructure Branch;

Karl Carisse, Senior Director, Innovation and Major Policy Transformation, Community Infrastructure Branch;

Kim Purchase, Deputy Chief of Staff to the minister.

Department of Justice Canada:

Paul Salembier, General Counsel, Operations and Programs.

Health Canada:

Ivy Chan, Director, Environmental Public Health Division, Primary Health Care and Public Health, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Treaty 7 First Nations Chiefs Association:

Charles Weaselhead, Grand Chief;

Brent Scout, Grand Chief's Liaison.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Dwight Dorey, National Vice-Chief;

Julian Morelli, Advisor.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Housakos, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Lovelace Nicholas, Meredith, Munson, Patterson, Raine, Sibbeston

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (May 30, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (May 29, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (May 17, 2012).

Back to top