Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011

Chair: The Honourable W. DAVID ANGUS

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Issue No. 10

Sixteenth and seventeenth meetings on:

The current state and future of Canada's energy sector (including alternative energy)


Wednesday, November 30, 2011 (morning meeting)

As individuals:

Steve E. Hrudey, Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta;

Allan Offenberger, Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta.

Alberta Innovates-Technology Futures:

Axel Meisen, Chair, Foresight.

Alberta Council of Technologies:

Perry Kinkaide, President.

As individuals:

David Schindler, Killam Memorial Chair and Professor of Ecology, University of Alberta;

Andrew Leach, Associate Professor, Natural Resources, Energy, and Environment, University of Alberta.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011 (afternoon meeting)

Capital Power Corporation:

Brian Vassjo, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation:

Eric Newell, Chair;

Kirk Andries, Executive Director.

Alberta Energy:

Mike Ekelund, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Initiatives;

Kathryn Wood, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Electricity, Alternative Energy and Carbon Capture and Storage.


The Honourable W. David Angus, Chair

The Honourable Grant Mitchell, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, Brown, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dickson, Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Massicotte, Neufeld, Peterson, Seidman, Sibbeston, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top