Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Thursday, May 17, 2012
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Thursday, May 31, 2012

Issue No. 19

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Criminal Code
(citizen's arrest and the defences of property and persons)


The Honourable Robert Nicholson, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada


Thursday, May 17, 2012

Department of Justice Canada:

Catherine Kane, Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Joanne Klineberg, Senior Cousel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Canadian Police Association:

Tom Stamatakis, President.

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Greg Preston, Superintendent, Edmonton Police Service.

Canadian Bar Association:

Paul J. Calarco, Member;

Marilou Reeve, Staff Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform.

Canadian Association of Crown Counsel:

Rick Woodburn, President.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Criminal Lawyer's Association:

Michael Spratt, Representative.

Canadian Criminal Justice Association:

Stacey Hannem, Chair, Police Review Committee (by video conference).

As individuals:

Hamish Stewart, Law Professor, University of Toronto;

Emma Cunliffe, Law Professor, University of British Columbia (by video conference);

Leo Russomanno, Criminal Lawyer.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Di Nino, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C., (or Carignan), Unger, White

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Jaffer replaced the Honourable Senator Mitchell (May 10, 2012).

Back to top