Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, October 24, 2011

Issue No. 2

Second meeting on:

Issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, the review of the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations (Federal programs supporting sports and recreational activities for children and youth with disabilities)


United Nations:

Akiko Ito, Chief, Secretariat for the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (by video conference).

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights:

James Turpin, Human Rights Officer (by video conference).

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Karen Mosher, Secretary General;

Harvey Goldberg, Team Leader, Strategic Initiatives;

Philippe Dufresne, General Counsel, Litigation Services Division.

As an individual:

The Honourable Vim Kochhar, former senator.

Government of Alberta:

Roger Kramers, Director, Sport Development Branch, Ministry of Tourism, Parks and Recreation (by video conference);

Steven Patrick, Consultant, Sport Development Branch, Ministry of Tourism, Parks and Recreation (by video conference).


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Patrick Brazeau, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, Baker, P.C., * Cowan (or Tardif), Hubley, * LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Martin, Nancy Ruth, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Martin was added to the membership of the committee (October 24, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Kochhar retired and was removed from the membership of the committee, replacement pending (September 21, 2011).