Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, March 12, 2012
Thursday, March 15, 2012

Issue No. 10

Fifth meeting on:

Issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, the review of the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations

Third meeting on:

Issues of discrimination in the hiring and promotion practices of the Federal Public Service, to study the extent to which targets to achieve employment equity are being met, and to examine labour market outcomes for minority groups in the private sector

Consideration of a draft budget


Monday, March 12, 2012

International Development Research Centre:

Colleen Duggan, Senior Program Specialist;

John de Boer, Program Leader, Governance, Security and Justice Program.

United Nations Association in Canada:

Kathryn White, Executive Director.

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

David Langtry, Acting Chief Commissioner;

Marie-Claude Girard, Director.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Patrick Brazeau, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, * Cowan (or Tardif), Harb, Hubley, * LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Meredith, White, Zimmer

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth (March 7, 2012).