Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Issue 26 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 29, 2013

OTTAWA, Monday, April 29, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day, at 4 p.m. in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Buth, Harb, Hubley, Jaffer, Ngo, Oh, Unger and White (9).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Oliver (1).

In attendance: Julian Walker, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, October 26, 2011, the committee continued its examination of issues relating to the discrimination in the hiring and promotion practices of the Federal Public Service, to study the extent to which targets to achieve employment equity are being met, and to examine labour market outcomes for minority groups in the private sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 3.)


Government of Canada:

George Da Pont, Employment Equity Champion for Visible Minorities (President, Canadian Food Inspection Agency);

Alan Latourelle, Employment Equity Champion for Aboriginal Federal Employees (CEO, Parks Canada);

Linda Lizotte-MacPherson, Employment Equity Champion for Federal Employees with Disabilities (President, Canada School of Public Service).

Public Service Alliance of Canada:

Robyn Benson, National President;

Seema Lamba, Human Rights Officer.

Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada:

Al Ravjiani, Ontario Regional Director;

Ryan Campbell, Policy Analyst.

The chair made opening remarks.

Ms. Lizotte-MacPherson, Mr. Latourelle and Mr. Da Pont each made a presentation and answered questions.

At 5:02 pm., the committee suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 5:09 p.m., the Honourable Senator Unger replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu as a member of the committee.

Ms. Benson, Mr. Ravjiani and Mr. Campbell each made a presentation and, together with Ms. Lamba, answered questions.

At 6:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee