Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12


Thursday, September 27, 2012 (in camera)
Wednesday, October 3, 2012
Thursday, October 4, 2012

Issue No. 21

Fourteenth and fifteenth meetings on:

Study on prescription pharmaceuticals in Canada


First meeting on:

Bill S-204, An Act to establish a national strategy for chronic cerebrospinal venous insufficiency (CCSVI)


Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Health Canada:

Paul Glover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch (HPFB);

Dr. Marc Berthiaume, Director, Marketed Health Products Directorate (HPFB).

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Neil Maxwell, Assistant Auditor General;

Louise Dubé, Principal.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

The Honourable Senator Jane Cordy, sponsor of the bill.

Kirsty Duncan, Member of Parliament for Etobicoke-North.

Canadian Institutes of Health Research:

Dr. Alain Beaudet, President.

Canadian Institute for Health Information:

John Wright, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Jean-Marie Berthelot, Vice-President, Programs;

Ann Chapman, Manager, Canadian Multiple Sclerosis Monitoring System.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Rodney Ghali, Acting Senior Director, Partnerships and Strategies Division.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Cordy,  *Cowan (or Tardif), Day, Enverga, *LeBreton, P.C., (or Carignan), Martin, Merchant, Mockler, Peterson, Seidman, Seth, Verner, P.C.

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (October 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Callbeck (October 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Mockler replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (October 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (October 3, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (October 2, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Merchant replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (September 28, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (September 26, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (September 25, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Wallace (September 18, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (June 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (June 20, 2012).