Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable RICHARD NEUFELD

Tuesday, April 29, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014

Issue No. 11

Second and third meetings on:

Study on non-renewable and renewable energy development including energy storage, distribution, transmission, consumption and other emerging technologies in Canada's three northern territories


Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Michel Chénier, Director, Petroleum and Mineral Resources Directorate;

Catherine Conrad, Director, Environment and Renewable Resources.

Natural Resources Canada:

Tereance Hubbard, Director General, Petroleum Resources Branch, Energy Sector.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Environment Canada:

Mark Cauchi, Executive Director, Oil, Gas and Alternative Energy;

Lynne Patenaude, Manager, Natural Gas and Crude Oil.

Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency:

Sandra LaFortune, Director General, Policy and Planning;

Matthew Spence, Director General, Northern Projects Management Office;

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada:

Susan Harper, Director General and Senior Arctic Official;

Marc Tessier, Head, Energy Secretariat and Deputy Director, Circumpolar Affairs and Energy Division.

Natural Resources Canada: (by video conference)

Shelley Milutinovic, Chief Economist;

Jim Fox, Business Leader, Strategy and Analysis.


The Honourable Richard Neufeld, Chair

The Honourable Grant Mitchell, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), MacDonald, Massicotte, Patterson, Ringuette, Seidman, Sibbeston, Wallace

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)