Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Thursday, September 25, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014

Issue No. 11

Ninth meeting on:

Study the international mechanisms toward improving cooperation in the settlement of cross-border family disputes, including Canada's actions to encourage universal adherence to and compliance with the Hague Abductions Convention, and to strengthen cooperation with non-Hague State Parties with the purpose of upholding children's best interests


First and second meetings on:

Bill S-201, An Act to prohibit and prevent genetic discrimination


Thursday, September 25, 2014

As an individual:

Mandeep Gill, Associate, International Family Law Group, LLP (by video conference).

Reunite International Child Abduction Centre:

Alison Shalaby, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference);

Anne-Marie Hutchinson, Chair (by video conference).

International Social Service:

Hervé Boéchat, Deputy Secretary General, and Director, International Reference Centre for Children Deprived of Family (by video conference).

Monday, September 29, 2014

The Honourable Senator James Cowan, sponsor of the bill.

Office of the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate:

Barbara Kagedan, Senior Policy Advisor.

Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association:

Frank Swedlove, President;

Frank Zinatelli, Vice President and General Counsel;

Dr. Judy Beamish, Vice President and Chief Medical Director, Sun Life Financial.

Canadian Institute of Actuaries:

Bob Howard, Past President;

Jacques Y. Boudreau, Chair, Committee on Genetic Testing;

Michel Simard, Executive Director.

Canadian Association of Counsel to Employers:

Karen Jensen, Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada:

Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada;

Carman Baggaley, Senior Strategic Policy Advisor;

Patricia Kosseim, Senior General Counsel and Director General.

As individuals:

Yvonne Bombard, PhD, Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael's Hospital, Assistant Professor, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto;

Dr. Ronald Cohn, Co-Director, Centre for Genetic Medicine, Sr Scientist, The Hospital for Sick Children, Department of Pediatrics and Molecular Genetics, University of Toronto.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cowan, *Cowan (or Fraser), Eaton, Eggleton, P.C., Nancy Ruth, Ngo, Raine

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (October 1, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Cowan replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (September 30, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (September 29, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Cowan replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (September 29, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Unger (September 12, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth replaced the Honourable Senator Seidman (September 12, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Tannas was added to the membership of the committee (September 12, 2014).