Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Thursday, October 30, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014

Issue No. 12

Fifth meeting:

Examine and report on how the mandates and practices of the UNHCR and UNICEF have evolved to meet the needs of displaced children in modern conflict situations, with particular attention to the current crisis in Syria


First meeting:

Bill S-219, An Act respecting a national day of commemoration of the exodus of Vietnamese refugees and their acceptance in  Canada after the fall of Saigon and the end of the Vietnam War


Tenth meeting:

Study the international mechanisms toward improving cooperation in the settlement of cross-border family disputes, including Canada's actions to encourage universal adherence to and compliance with the Hague Abductions Convention, and to strengthen cooperation with non-Hague State Parties with the purpose of upholding children's best interests


Thursday, October 30, 2014

The Honourable Senator Thanh Hai Ngo, sponsor of the bill.

Refugees International:

Jeff Crisp, Senior Director for Policy and Advocacy (by video conference).

Mercy Corps:

Matt Streng, Senior Youth Development Advisor (by video conference).

Thursday, November 6, 2014

As an individual:

Nigel Lowe, Emeritus Professor, Cardiff Law School (by video conference).

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada:

Bill Crosbie, Assistant Deputy Minister and Legal Adviser;

Béatrice Maillé, Director General, Consular Policy;

Leeann McKechnie, Director General, Consular Operations Bureau.

Justice Canada:

Kathryn Sabo, General Counsel and Director, International Private Law Section;

Marie Riendeau, Counsel, International Private Law Section;

Sandra Zed Finless, Senior Counsel, Office of the Canadian Federal Central Authority for the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction, Legal Services Unit at Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

Laurie-Anne Kempton, Director of Foreign Operations, Passport Program Integrity Branch;

Robert Stevenson, Operational Coordinator for Perimeter Implementation, Strategic Projects Office.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Calvin Christiansen, Director General, National Border Operations Centre.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Eaton, Eggleton, P.C., Hubley, Ngo,Tannas

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (October 2, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (October 2, 2014).