Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable DANIEL LANG

Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014

Issue No. 10

Second and third meetings:

Study on security threats facing Canada


Second meeting:

Study on national security and defence issues in Indo-Asia Pacific Relations and their implications for Canada's national security and defence policies, practices, circumstances and capabilities


Monday, October 27, 2014

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Bob Paulson, Commissioner;

Mike Cabana, Deputy Commissioner, Federal Policing;

Peter Henschel, Deputy Commissioner, Specialized Policing Services.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service:

Michael Peirce, Assistant Director Intelligence.

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada:

Peter MacArthur, Director General, South, Southeast Asia and Oceania Bureau;

David Drake, Director General, Security and Intelligence Bureau.

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Rear-Admiral Gilles Couturier, Director General International Security Policy.

Monday, November 3, 2014

As an individual:

The Honourable Senator Serge Joyal, P.C., Former Deputy Chair of the Senate Special Committee on Anti- terrorism.

Public Prosecution Service of Canada:

Brian Saunders, Director of Public Prosecutions;

George Dolhai, Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions;

Ursula Hendel, Senior Counsel, Drug, National Security and Northern Prosecutions Branch.


The Honourable Daniel Lang, Chair

The Honourable Grant Mitchell, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Dagenais, Day, Kenny, Ngo, Stewart Olsen, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Enverga (October 29, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (October 28, 2014).