Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14-15


Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015

Issue No. 31

First meeting:

Bill C-247, An Act to provide that the Department of Employment and Social Development is the main point of contact with the Government of Canada in respect of the death of a Canadian citizen or resident


First meeting:

Bill C-591, An Act to amend the Canada Pension Plan and the Old Age Security Act (pension and benefits)


Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Frank Valeriote, Member of Parliament for Guelph, sponsor of the bill.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Anik Dupont, Director General, Identity Policy and Program Directorate;

Robert Frelich, Director, Identity Policy and Program Directorate.

Funeral Service Association of Canada:

Jim Bishop, Chair of the Government Relations Committee.

Canadian Association of Retired Persons:

Janet Gray, Chair, CARP Ottawa.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.

Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime:

Sue O'Sullivan, Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Marianna Giordano, Director, CPP Policy and Legislation.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Chaput, *Cowan (or Fraser), Enverga, Frum, Merchant, Nancy Ruth, Raine, Seidman, Stewart, Olsen, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Wallace replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (March 26, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (March 26, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Munson was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (March 26, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (March 26, 2015).

Back to top