Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017

Issue No. 18

Fifth and sixth meetings:

Bill S-219, An Act to deter Iran-sponsored terrorism, incitement to hatred, and human rights violations


Fourth meeting:

Study on opportunities for strengthening cooperation with Mexico since the tabling, in June 2015, of the committee report entitled North American Neighbours: Maximizing Opportunities and Strengthening Cooperation for a more Prosperous Future


Wednesday, February 15, 2017

As an individual:

Richard Nephew, Senior Research Scholar, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University (by video conference).

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Global Affairs Canada:

David Morrison, Assistant Deputy Minister (Americas);

Martin Moen, Director General, North America and Investment.

Iran Democratic Association:

Shahram Golestaneh.

Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights:

The Honourable Irwin Cotler, P.C., Founder and Chair.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Bovey, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cools, Cordy, Dawson, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Housakos, Marshall, Marwah, Ngo, Oh, Saint-Germain, Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (February 16, 2017).