Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018

Issue No. 42

Third and fourth meetings:
Subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to Canada's international obligations


Wednesday, March 28, 2018

As individuals:

Line Beauchesne, Full Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa.

Armand de Mestral, Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Canadian Coalition for the Rights of Children:

Kathy Vandergrift, Chair.

As individuals:

Dwight Newman, Professor and Canada Research Chair, College of Law, University of Saskatchewan.

Bruno Gélinas-Faucher, PhD Candidate in International Law, Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bovey, Cormier, *Day (or Mercer), Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Housakos, Massicotte, Ngo, Oh, Saint-Germain, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo, (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (March 29, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Bovey replaced the Honourable Senator Cormier (March 29, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Cormier replaced the Honourable Senator Bovey (March 28, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (March 27, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Massicotte replaced the Honourable Senator Lankin, P.C. (March 22, 2018).