Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Thursday, June 7, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018

Issue No. 48

Seventeenth and eighteenth meetings:
Study on the impact and utilization of Canadian culture and arts in Canadian foreign policy and diplomacy, and other related matters


Thursday, June 7, 2018

As individuals:

The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson (by video conference);

Susan Peterson d'Aquino, Member of the Board of Directors, The National Arts Centre Foundation.

Fédération culturelle canadienne-française:

Martin Théberge, President;

Marie-Christine Morin, Director General.

The Glenn Gould Foundation:

Roger Garland, President, Board of Directors;

Brian M. Levine, Executive Director.

KoSA Music:

Aldo Mazza, Founder and Artistic Director.

Pôles magnétiques, art et culture:

Esther Charron, Co-Founder and President (by video conference).

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Orchestre Métropolitain:

Jean R. Dupré, President and CEO.

Embassy of France to Canada:

Brigitte Proucelle, Cultural and Scientific Counsellor.

Emily Carr University of Art and Design:

Ron Burnett, President and Vice-Chancellor (by video conference).

Coup de cœur francophone:

Alain Chartrand, General Manager and Artistic Director.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cordy, Dawson, *Day (or Mercer), Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Housakos, Massicotte, Ngo, Oh, Saint-Germain, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (June 1, 2018).