Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable DAVID TKACHUK

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016

Issue No. 5

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


Ninth, tenth, eleventh and twelfth meetings:

Study on the issues pertaining to internal barriers to trade


Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Quebec Employers Council:

Yves-Thomas Dorval, President and CEO
(by video conference);

Norma Kozhaya, Research Vice President and Chief Economist (by video conference).

Canadian Vintners Association:

Dan Paszkowski, President and CEO.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Angella MacEwen, Senior Economist.

Retail Council of Canada:

Susie Grynol, Vice President, Federal Government Relations;

David Wilkes, Senior Vice President, Government Relations.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Rob Scott, Member of the CFA Board of Directors.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

As individuals:

Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Counsel, LexSage Professional Corporation;

Jon R. Johnson, Counsel, LexSage Professional Corporation.

Canadian Public Procurement Council (CPPC):

François Emond, Executive Director (by video conference).

Government of Prince Edward Island:

Kal Whitnell, Senior Director — Economic Research and Trade Negotiations, Economic Development and Tourism.

Atlantic Institute for Market Studies:

Marco Navarro-Genie, President and CEO (by video conference).

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Consumer Health Products Canada:

Karen Proud, President;

Gerry Harrington, Vice President, Policy and Regulatory Affairs.

Canadian Trucking Alliance:

Stephen Laskowski, Senior Vice President, Economic Affairs.

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Robert Carberry, Assistant Secretary, Canada-United States Regulatory Cooperation Council.

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC):

Philippe Massé, Director General, Labour Market Integration, Skills and Employment Branch.

C.D. Howe Institute:

Daniel Schwanen, Vice President, Research.


The Honourable David Tkachuk, Chair

The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Bellemare, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Massicotte, Patterson, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel), Tannas, Wallin

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Black (May 12, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Doyle (April 27, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (April 21, 2016).