Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable DAVID TKACHUK

Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Thursday, June 1, 2017

Issue No. 21

Third, fourth and fifth meetings:
Subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 3, 8, 18 and 20 of Part 4 of Bill C-44, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2017 and other measures


The Honourable Bill Morneau, P.C., M.P., Minister of Finance


Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Business Council of Canada:

Brian Kingston, Vice President, Policy.

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Hendrik Brakel, Senior Director, Economic, Financial and Tax Policy;

Ryan Greer, Director, Transportation and Infrastructure Policy.

C.D. Howe Institute:

Benjamin Dachis, Associate Director, Research (by video conference).


Colin Hansen, President and CEO (by video conference).

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

As an individual:

Matti Siemiatycki, Associate Professor, University of Toronto (by video conference).

Department of Finance Canada:

Paul Rochon, Deputy Minister.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

As an individual:

Patrick Taillon, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Laval University.


The Honourable David Tkachuk, Chair

The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Campbell, Carignan, P.C., Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Maltais, Massicotte, Moncion, Omidvar, Ringuette, *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Unger,
        Wallin, Wetston

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Black (June 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Wallin replaced the Honourable Senator Woo (June 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Woo replaced the Honourable Senator Wallin (May 31, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Maltais was added to the membership (May 30, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Unger was added to the membership (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Plett was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (May 18, 2017).