Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable DOUGLAS BLACK

Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017

Issue No. 30

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)

Second and third meetings:
Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Canada Business Corporations Act, the Canada Cooperatives Act, the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act, and the Competition Act

(Special Study Budget 2017-2018 (Cyber security and cyber fraud))


Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Catalyst Canada Inc.:

Ashley Mac Isaac-Butler, Director, Women On Board and Government Affairs.

Institute for Gender and the Economy:

Sarah Kaplan, Director.

Transparency International Canada:

Jon Allen, Director;

Denis Meunier, Member, Beneficial Ownership Working Group.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Diversity Institute:

Wendy Cukier, Founder and Director.

Hansell LLP:

Frédéric Duguay, Partner;

Susan Kushneryk, Partner.

Institute of Corporate Directors:

Matthew Fortier, Vice President, Policy.


The Honourable Douglas Black, Chair

The Honourable Carolyn Stewart Olsen, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dagenais, Day, *Day (or Mercer), Downe, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Marwah, Ringuette, *Smith (or Martin), Tannas, Tkachuk, Unger, Wallin, Wetston, *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ringuette replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (December 7, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Ringuette (December 5, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais was added to the membership (December 4, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Maltais was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (December 4, 2017).