Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable SERGE JOYAL, C.P.

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Issue No. 49

First meeting:
Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


Wednesday, October 3, 2018

The Honourable Scott Brison, P.C., M.P., President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government.


Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Francis Bilodeau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Digital Policy and Services, Office of the Chief Information Officer;

Ruth Naylor, Executive Director, Information and Privacy Policy Division, Office of the Chief Information Officer.


The Honourable Serge Joyal, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Renée Dupuis, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters, Boniface, Carignan, P.C., Dalphond, *Day (or Mercer), Frum, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Jaffer, McCoy, McIntyre, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator McCoy replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (October 2, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Dalphond replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (October 2, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Dalphond (September 23, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Pate (September 23, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Frum was added to the membership (September 20, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Eaton was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (September 20, 2018).