Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable FABIAN MANNING

Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017

Issue No. 10

First and second meetings:

Bill S-203, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and other Acts (ending the captivity of whales and dolphins)


Tuesday, February 28, 2017

As an individual:

The Honourable Wilfred P. Moore, former senator.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Sylvie Lapointe, A/Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management;

Arran McPherson, Director General, Ecosystem Science Directorate;

Adam Burns, A/Director General, Fisheries Resource Management.

Department of Justice Canada:

Joanne Klineberg, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.


The Honourable Fabian Manning, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Christmas, Enverga, Forest, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, McCoy, McInnis, Munson, Plett, Raine, Sinclair, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (March 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (March 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (February 27, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 16, 2017).

Back to top