Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable FABIAN MANNING

Thursday, May 4, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017

Issue No. 15

Ninth and tenth meetings:

Bill S-203, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and other Acts (ending the captivity of whales and dolphins)


Seventeenth meeting:

Study on Maritime Search and Rescue activities, including current challenges and opportunities

(Budget Application for Study on Maritime Search and Rescue, 2017-2018


Thursday, May 4, 2017

Vancouver Aquarium:

John Nightingale, President and CEO;

Dr. Martin Haulena, Head veterinarian.

As an individual:

Laurenne Schiller, Ph.D. student, Interdisciplinary Studies (Marine Affairs), Dalhousie University.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

As an individual:

Michael Noonan, Professor of Animal Behavior, Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Conservation, Canisius College (by video conference).

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Adam Burns, A/Director General, Fisheries Resource Management;

Alain Vézina, Regional Director, Science, Maritimes Region.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

As an individual:

The Honourable Robert Wells, Q.C.


The Honourable Fabian Manning, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Enverga, Forest, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, McCoy, McInnis, McIntyre, Munson, Pate, Plett, Raine, Sinclair, *Smith (or Martin), Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator McIntyre replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (May 11, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (May 10, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Pate replaced the Honourable Senator Christmas (May 10, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (May 9, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Sinclair replaced the Honourable Senator Pate (April 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (April 13, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C. (April 13, 2017).



Back to top