Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19


Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Issue No. 39

Thirty-fifth and thirty-sixth meetings:
Study on the issues relating to the human rights of prisoners in the correctional system

Eighth and ninth meetings:
Examine and monitor issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, to review the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations


Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Canadian Dental Association:

Mitch Taillon, President.

Canadian Association of Social Workers:

Ajay Pandhi, Vice President;

Fred Phelps, Executive Director.

As an individual:

Dianne Grenier, Lawyer and partner of a former prisoner.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Correctional Service Canada:

Anne Kelly, Commissioner;

Alain Tousignant, Senior Deputy Commissioner;

Jennifer Wheatley, Assistant Commissioner, Health Services;

Larry Motiuk, Assistant Commissioner, Policy;

Kelley Blanchette, Deputy Commissioner for Women.

Parole Board of Canada:

Jennifer Oades, Chairperson;

Daryl Churney, Executive Director General;

Michelle Van De Bogart, Regional Director General, Ontario Region.


The Honourable Wanda Elaine Thomas Bernard, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Jane Cordy, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boyer, Brazeau, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Hartling, Martin, Ngo, Pate, Saint-Germain, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (February 27, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Wells was added to the membership (February 25, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (February 25, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (February 20, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (February 19, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Hartling replaced the Honourable Senator Cormier (February 11, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator White (February 27, 2019).