Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, December 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Issue No. 18

Second and third (final) meetings:
Bill C-23, An Act respecting the preclearance of persons and goods in Canada and the United States

(Bill C-23)


Monday, December 4, 2017

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada:

Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner;

Patricia Kosseim, Senior General Counsel, Director General;

Rebecca Shepherd, Legal Counsel.

Canadian Bar Association:

Michael Greene, Honourary Executive Member, Immigration Law Section;

Kathleen Terroux, Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform.

Barreau du Québec:

Hugues Langlais, President, Immigration and Citizenship Committee;

Réa Hawi, Lawyer, Secretariat of the Order and Legal Affairs.

Canadian Muslim Lawyers Association:

Pantea Jafari, Board Member.

International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group:

Tim McSorley, National Coordinator.

British Columbia Civil Liberties Association:

Josh Paterson, Executive Director.

Global Affairs Canada:

David MacNaughton, Canadian Ambassador to the United States.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Colin Kenny, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, Brazeau, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oh was added to the membership (December 4, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Doyle was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (December 4, 2017).

The Honourable Senator McPhedran replaced the Honourable Senator Griffin (November 28, 2017).

Back to top