Skip to content
AGFO - Standing Committee

Agriculture and Forestry



OTTAWA, Thursday, September 21, 2023


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:59 a.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Robert Black, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Burey, Cotter, Dalphond, Loffreda, MacAdam, Oh, Simons, Woo and Yussuff (9).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senator Galvez (1).

Participating in the meeting: Joanne Markle LaMontagne, Analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, June 13, 2023, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-234, An Act to amend the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act.


The Honourable Senator David M. Wells, sponsor of the bill;

Ben Lobb, Member of Parliament for Huron-Bruce, sponsor of the bill.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Warren Goodlet, Director General, Research and Analysis Directorate;

Marco Valicenti, Director General, Innovation Programs Directorate.

Department of Finance Canada:

Phil King, Director General, Sales Tax Division;

Jenna Robbins, Senior Director, Strategic Planning and Policy;

Adam Martin, Senior Advisor, Sales Tax Division.

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Jeff Lindberg, Manager, Engagement and Assessment, Carbon Market Bureau.

The Honourable Senator Wells and Ben Lobb each made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:59 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:04 a.m., the committee resumed.

Warren Goodlet and Phil King each made a statement and, together with Marco Valicenti, Jenna Robbins, Adam Martin and Jeff Lindberg, answered questions.

At 10:53 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Ferda Simpson

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top