Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable GHISLAIN MALTAIS

Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Issue No. 9

Fifteenth and sixteenth meetings:

Study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector


Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Ontario Broiler Hatching Egg and Chick Commission:

William Bearss, Chair, Agri-food (poultry);

Jack Greydanus, Director.

Chicken Farmers of Ontario:

Rob Dougans, President and CEO;

Ed Benjamins, Vice Chair of the Board.

Freight Management Association of Canada:

Bob Ballantyne, President.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Canadian Sugar Institute:

Sandra Marsden, President.

Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers' Association:

Jason Verkaik, Chair of the Board;

Craig Hunter, Research Advisor.


The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Chair

The Honourable Terry M. Mercer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Merchant, Moore, Ogilvie, Oh, Plett, Tardif, Unger

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Smith (Saurel) (May 4, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Smith (Saurel) replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 3, 2016).